New COVID-19 Cases Reported Across Southern Illinois

New COVID-19 Cases Reported Across Southern Illinois

SOUTHERN ILLINOIS – The Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) Monday announced 1,612 new confirmed cases of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) in Illinois, including 8 additional confirmed deaths.

Local case breakdown:

  • Perry County 27
  • Jefferson County: 25
  • Union County: 16
  • Johnson County: 12
  • Jackson County: 10
  • Williamson and Massac counties: eight
  • Franklin and Pulaski counties: four
  • Hamilton County: three
  • Alexander, Saline and White counties: one
  • All cases are in isolation.

The Jefferson County and Southern Seven Health departments reported their respective new case numbers for Aug. 22-24. The Perry County Health Department’s numbers are a total since their last release Thursday, Aug. 20.

Currently, IDPH is reporting a total of 221,790 cases, including 7,888 deaths, in 102 counties in Illinois. The preliminary seven-day statewide positivity for cases as a percent of total test from Aug.17–23 is 4.2 percent.